23 November 2016

Meet the Nelson/Marlborough committee

Introducing your committee


Avik Halder – Chair

I’m delighted to see that the core of last year’s committee has been re-elected as hopefully this helps us to carry forward momentum built up from last year. This will be my second year as Chair and fourth on the committee and I’ve always enjoyed seeing the diversity of the projects our profession undertakes in our region. I’m particularly keen on raising our industry’s profile within our local community, especially within our schools. I’m a three waters engineer and the office manager for MWH in Richmond



Stephen Whyte - Treasurer

I am a Senior Environmental Engineer and Project Manager at Opus and have been on the committee since 2014. I have enjoyed contributing to the branch, particularly varying events to attract a wider audience. I have also been active with the Nelson High Noon Toastmasters over the last few years and was President in 2015-16. I am a chartered professional engineer and a PRINCE2 registered practitioner.


Roelof De Haan – Committee member

I grew up a Stormers supporter in Cape Town and got my engineering degree at Stellenbosch University. This was followed by conscripted military service in the Air Force for two years. I’m the Environmental engineering Manager at Opus and project managed the Maitai pipeline upgrade. In my spare time I’m an avid genealogist as well as chair of the South Island branch of the South African Military Veterans organisation of Australasia, and committee member at Golden Downs Pistol Club.


Mornay Rautenbach – Committee member

I am an electrical engineer and have been in New Zealand for the last 15 years. I predominantly do Commercial Electrical Design/Build projects but am always keen to take on other projects. I have served as a member of the Branch Committee since 2015 and am committed to offer my services to the best of my ability in 2017, not only for the benefit of the Branch, but IPENZ as a whole. I’m looking forward to work with a very dedicated team of committee members for another year.


Rebecca McMahon – Committee member

I am a geotechnical engineer for MWH NZ Ltd. I have been involved with IPENZ through Engenerate and then the Nelson-Marlborough Branch Committee since 2014. I am currently, completing a Masters of Engineering part time on the seismic site classification of the Nelson Tasman Region.


Andrew Chalmers - Engenerate representative

I am Graduating from NMIT with my NZDE (Civil) this year. Before studying I worked with roading contractors here in Nelson and in Christchurch. I am hoping to continue to build the Engenerate programme to help bring new graduates together and help develop professional relationships. I look forward to getting out in our industry and learning from others’ experiences.