20 May 2016

IPENZ Foundation awards student scholarships

2016 IPENZ Foundation Scholarship winners

(From top left) Emma Woods, Juliette Foley, Claudia Sim, Timothy Andrews, Devon Whitmore, Hannah St Clair, Jessica Gale and Nicole Harvey.

The IPENZ Foundation has awarded its annual scholarships to eight students starting their engineering degrees this year. The standards were high and the students were chosen from a pool of 135 entrants.

Emma Woods (Wellington), Juliette Foley (Auckland), Claudia Sim (Southland), Timothy Andrews (Taranaki), Devon Whitmore (Tauranga), Hannah St Clair (Hawke’s Bay), Jessica Gale (South Canterbury) and Nicole Harvey (Hawke’s Bay) all receive $4,000 towards the cost of their first year at university. They impressed the judges with their essays on “Why I want to be an engineer”, which was submitted along with their CVs, academic achievements and personal references.

The Foundation offers scholarships for engineering study every year. This year these included regional scholarships offered in partnership with our Tauranga, Hawke’s Bay and South Canterbury Branches.

Find out more about the scholarships

If you would like to support the IPENZ Foundation Scholarship programme, donations are welcome. Your donation will help us support more future engineers get the qualifications they need to innovate a better country for all of us.

Make a donation

Inaugural Francis Small Scholarship awarded

Daniel Court-Patience was awarded the Foundation’s inaugural 2016 Francis Small Scholarship of $10,000 to assist with completing a Masters of Engineering in Earthquake Engineering at the University of Canterbury. Daniel completed a BE (Hons) Civil at Canterbury in 2015 and his Masters research topic relates to experimental testing of Buckling Restrained Brace Frames.

Find out more