Our Governing Board

Our Board is responsible for the governance and strategic direction of IPENZ. Four senior office holders – headed by the President – and six committee members make up the Board. Our Members elect the Board each year. We call for nominations each October and hold elections every February. Make sure you have your say in the annual election by casting your vote or by standing for election.


Craig Price


Craig is a Director and South Island Regional Manager of Beca Ltd, one of Asia Pacific’s largest multidisciplinary engineering and professional services consultancies.  Craig is an IPENZ Practice Area Assessor, a previous Chair of the Competence Assessment Board and was a founding Director and subsequently Chair of the New Zealand Green Building Council.  A Chartered Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Directors, Craig has a range of governance experience.  Craig currently serves on the Engineering Practice Advisory Committee, Standards Accreditation Board and Audit and Risk Committee.

Immediate Past-President

Elena Trout


Elena is a professional director who serves on a number of company boards and an independent consultant. She has held leadership roles with transport and energy companies including KiwiRail, Auckland Regional Council/ARTA, Serco New Zealand Ltd, Kingett Mitchell and Associates and Methanex New Zealand. Elena chairs the IPENZ Engineering Practice Advisory Committee and Audit and Risk Committee. She is a member of the Performance and Remuneration Committee and Fellowship Panel.

Deputy President

Dean Kimpton


As Auckland Council’s Chief Operating Officer, Dean leads the largest division in council – the Operations division, responsible for supporting Auckland’s growth and delivering on Aucklanders’ services expectations, such as building and resource consenting, waste services and stormwater infrastructure, environmental services, capital works, maintenance and management of facilities, through to community services including libraries, parks and recreation, and community development and safety. As COO, Dean also has oversight of the Housing portfolio and civil defence. Prior to joining council, Dean was managing director of AECOM NZ. He has wide experience at senior executive and governance levels.

Vice President

Ben Holland


Ben is the NZ General Manager Commercial and Major Projects for Opus International Consultants and focuses on improving Opus’ commercial and project delivery. He has a background in civil engineering and business management. Ben has previously served on the Competency Assessment Board, and is the Board representative for the IPENZ IT change project and the Engineering Heritage Board.

Board Members

Geoffrey Farquhar

FIPENZ, CPEng, IntPE(NZ), Recognised Engineer, MICE, CEng(UK)

Geoffrey is Principal Geotechnical Engineer with GHD Limited. His background is in consulting engineering in New Zealand and overseas. He served for six years on IPENZ's Competency Assessment Board before being elected to the Governing Board in 2013. Geoffrey is a Staff Assessor for CPEng and PEngGeol applications. He is a member of the Board's Performance and Remuneration Committee and Engineering Practice Advisory Committee.

Professor Jan Evans-Freeman

BSc(Hons), PhD, MInstD, FInstP, FIPENZ

Jan is the Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the College of Engineering at the University of Canterbury. She is a Director of Transpower and on the governing boards of several national government-funded research projects. Jan has a background in electronic engineering and is a member of the IPENZ Audit and Risk Committee.

Ron McDowall ONZM


Ron is a senior lecturer at the University of Waikato Business School in the MBA programme. His teaching focuses on sustainability, resilience, governance and ethics, and society’s expectations of business. His research is focused on resilience and infrastructure, complexity management, decision theory, judgment, and over the horizon sustainable technology design.  Ron is a member of the IPENZ Engineering Practice Advisory Committee.

John Burden


John is General Manager, Infrastructure with Fletcher Construction. Previously he led teams to win and deliver some of the largest infrastructure contracts in New Zealand, including the Waterview Connection, Victoria Park tunnel and other large Auckland roading projects.  He is a board member of the QuakeCentre. John is on the Competency Assessment Board.

Kaye Clark


Kaye is Road Safety Programme Director at NZTA. She has had an extensive career in local government in the central North Island, covering most aspects of municipal and regional engineering. She is a member of the Institute of Directors, and a past chair of the Road Controlling Authorities Forum. Kaye is on the Audit and Risk Committee.

Sue-Ellen Fenelon


Sue-Ellen is a Senior Analyst at the Ministry for the Environment. She has worked in both local government and engineering consultancies in urban stormwater management. Sue-Ellen is member of Water New Zealand. She is on the Engineering Practice Advisory Committee.