Turner Award for Professional Commitment

Sponsored by

Our success is largely driven by the volunteer efforts of our members. The Turner Award for Professional Commitment recognises an extraordinary volunteer – the person who goes above and beyond in their commitment to IPENZ, their profession and their community. Help us identify exceptional people and nominate someone.

To be considered you need to be a member of IPENZ, and you need to be nominated. We encourage branches and technical groups to nominate individuals who have made a significant contribution to your activities. Nominations are now closed. The award will be presented at the Fellows’ and Achievers’ Awards in Wellington on 7 April.

How to nominate a candidate

  • Complete the nomination form.
  • Find a referee to support the nomination and include their contact details. They must be an IPENZ member.
  • Show how the nominee meets all the judging criteria.
  • Email the nomination form and supporting material to awards@ipenz.org.nz.

Judging criteria

The judges will be looking for someone who demonstrates some of the following:

  • Actively uphold and promote the ideals of the profession
  • Contributes to the processes of self-regulation, e.g. voluntary activities on committees, taskforces, panels.
  • Willingly shares technical information with their colleagues and the wider community.
  • Promotes engineering as a career to young people and/or mentors young engineers.
  • Consistently demonstrates and upholds our Code of Ethical Conduct.
  • Is actively involved in community affairs.
  • Make an ongoing commitment to upskilling and maintaining knowledge and professional skills.

Award history

The Professional Commitment Award was established by R J McCarten in 1981. The Turner Lecture was created in 1985 through an endowment by Charles Turner, a previous Engineer-in-Chief of the Public Works Department. The lectures explored engineering, the law and contracts. Mr Turner was a key figure in the establishment of seismic design principles which later formed the basis for the first earthquake design code for the country. In 2005 these two honours were combined into the Turner Award for Professional Commitment.