The Fellows’ and Achievers’ Awards are a chance to provide recognition for the hard work, dedication, innovation and leadership of New Zealand engineers.

Awards announced 7 April 2017!

Ray Meyer Medal for Excellence in Student Design (sponsored by GHD)

Our top award for student members to showcase great work done by undergraduates.

Young Engineer of the Year (sponsored by AECOM)

Recognises a young engineer who has demonstrated excellence in their career, leader qualities and contribution to their community.

Supreme Technical Awards for Engineering Achievers (sponsored by Opus International Consultants)

Recognise those who have demonstrated excellence, innovations and leadership in engineering practice over their career to the benefit of the engineering profession. Awards are offered in four engineering practice areas:

  • Freyssinet Award for Building and Construction
  • Angus Award for Water, Waste and Amenities
  • Skellerup Award for Chemical, Bioprocess and Food
  • Evan Parry Award for Energy Systems

Turner Award for Professional Commitment (sponsored by Pacific Steel Group)

Recognises the extraordinary volunteer that goes above and beyond in their commitment to IPENZ, the profession and the community.

William Pickering Award for Engineering Leadership (sponsored by HERA)

Recognises an engineer who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and is a role model for other engineers. It is one of our most prestigious awards.

Award nominations close 4 November. The Award winners and Fellowship recipients will be presented at the Fellows and Achievers Awards in Wellington on 7 April.

If you have any queries contact Jan Macandrew awards@ipenz.org.nz


Being recognised as a fellow is our most prestigious membership class. It recognises outstanding engineering achievements or contribution as a leader of the profession.